top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaylyn McClendon

Living a slow life

The past two years since I’ve been home from my original mission there has been something missing. During or debrief after the trip we were warned that we may still be processing our trip years later. I can say that that is true. Since being back here that missing piece has fallen back into place.


We are moving into the village tomorrow, so this morning we had a little team meeting to go over the rest of the trip and see how we are doing mentally and spiritually. Ethan, a member of my first mission who has moved to South Africa full time and is the Director of Operations for Go Missions, asked us “Why are you here, what made you decide to come on this trip?”  My first mission has significantly impacted my outlook and approach to life. It’s something that is hard to communicate unless you have been here to experience it. When Rhyan and I were talking about going back over my college winter break, it was an easy yes. I knew I had a special place in my heart for the people, culture, and life here. Since I’ve been back I’ve realized that more specifically I have a place in my heart for the slowness of life here. If you Google “African Time” google will tell you, “African time is the perceived cultural tendency, in parts of Africa and the Caribbean toward a more relaxed attitude to time.” There is so much less hurry here. For example, let’s say we have plans at a certain time and our partners are an hour late or things get pushed back a day. It’s something that can be hard to adjust to especially if you are someone who values being on time and having a schedule. But once you adjust to it and embrace it, you appreciate and respect the approach. You just have to go with the flow and it teaches you to be patient and flexible. It’s not just African time that contributes to the slowness of life but it’s the simpleness. Back home I feel like there are so many distractions and always something to be done. It truly creates a mental barrier between us and our Father. Here you get up with the sun and go to bed with the sun. You have time in the mornings to spend with Jesus without being rushed. You gather your friends to make dinner and sit around a table with community. You drop your plans to make a cute little four year old giggle since you can't speak each others language. You serve others and take time to hear their stories and who they are. You hear the rooster in the mornings and watch the mountains as you drive. You say hello to the people you pass on the street.


This is the piece that I’ve been missing. It’s a piece I want to take back to the states with and one I don’t want to neglect.



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page